I’d be a millionaire if I had a dollar every time I’ve had this question…

Seriously, I would. (I make no apology for the dodgy title either… it got your attention.)

What’s the question?

What camera do you recommend?’

The answer used to be … ‘I’m not sure… let me do a bit of digging and I’ll get back to you.’

And then I end up holding my head in my hands, rocking back and forth in my chair… probably a bit like you did before you asked me.

The thing is, I’m good with Nikon SLR’s.  But that’s all because they’re the only thing I use.  I actually am not geeky enough to check out every new camera that appears on the market and I don’t really use point and shoots.  I’m not the person to ask.

Well all that changed last week when I was given a Sony camera to have a bit of a play around.  (Click the link to have a look)  It’s an NEX… shortly to be replaced by the ILCE series if not already.  That means that lots of places are selling these really quite inexpensively atm.

Holy moly.  This is a good camera.  It’s goooooood.

If you are serious about wanting ‘good’ photographs, but you’ve only had a point and shoot camera but want ‘something more’, then this is your baby.  I looked at this camera with a bit of scepticism but I shouldn’t have.

For a start, it’s small, but has interchangeable lenses like an DSLR.  Cute.  Kinda pro, but kinda not.  For a huge amount of $$$ you can put a viewfinder on the top of it, but I wasn’t given one so I did without.  I’m not a great fan of cameras without viewfinders, but this has got a seriously funky pull out LCD screen that also flips out and over the top of the camera so I didn’t miss the viewfinder so much.

It feels weighted and well built in your hands without being bulky.  The battery compartment makes up the bulk of the handgrip.  The buttons are subtle, unobtrusive and easy-is to use, though I find the ‘on/off’ switch kind of clunky.   I say ‘easy-ish’ here because if you’re not good with computers and general techno stuff, perhaps you might find this a bit more challenging to get your head around.

I think you could easily shove this camera into a side pocket when attending a concert and it would be unlikely that a security person would realise you had it.  I myself have never done that kind of thing myself, of course.  *cough*  Thing is, it looks like your ‘average p+s’ camera and that’s good.

16.1mp sensor and mirrorless to boot but I’m sure you can look up the spec for yourself if you’re into that.  There are several cool settings on this thing.  You can set it completely to manual, but I found this a bit fiddly, but then again, I didn’t read the manual, so I was just winging it.   I’m sure you can do better.  I did find that the two settings of ‘Auto’ and ‘Superior Auto’ were pretty darned good too.

In fact, it was so good, I took it to Sydney with me and shot some pics at Vivid as well as a few bits and bobs around the mountains.  Everything I shot was hand held, so no tripods or other support.  I was so impressed with this beastie, I’m looking at buying another lens for it, but all these shots were taken with the 18-55 which was perfect for most things.

Anyway, I’ll shut up and you can have a look at the pretty pictures and make your mind up.  If you were wanting to exercise a bit more control over your images and get a camera which will help you also improve the quality of your photography, then I don’t think you’ll go too far wrong.

All photographs were shot in RAW and I adjusted angles in Lightroom.  You could do the same if you have Lightroom or other editing software.  I wasn’t paid to promote this, I’m doing it out of the generosity of my heart.   😉

 

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid

 

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid-4

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid

 

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid

(Worship the bunny overlords… )

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid

 

To finish, a couple of the sunset the other night.  Straight out of camera, no edit.

 

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid

Blue Mountains photographer Vivid

 

 

Happy shooting!

